

To: Members of Standards Committee Date: 23 January 2014

Direct Dial: 01824 706204

e-mail: dcc\_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Member of the Committee,

You are invited to attend a meeting of the STANDARDS COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on FRIDAY, 31 JANUARY 2014 in CONFERENCE ROOM 1B, COUNTY HALL, WYNNSTAY ROAD, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal and Democratic Services

#### **AGENDA**

# PART 1: THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

## 1 APOLOGIES

#### 2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

### 3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

# 4 MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING (Pages 3 - 10)

To receive the minutes of the Standards Committee meeting held on 25 October 2013 (copy enclosed).





# 5 **REGISTRATION OF MEMBERS' INTERESTS** (Pages 11 - 18)

To consider a report by the Monitoring Officer (copy enclosed) detailing the legislative changes relating to the Register of Members' Interests.

## 6 ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS

To note the attendance by members of the Standards Committee at County, Town and Community Council and to receive their reports.

## 7 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Standards Committee is scheduled for 10.00 a.m. on Friday 14 March 2014 in Conference Room 1b, County Hall, Ruthin.

# **PART 2: CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS**

It is recommended in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, that the Press and Public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item(s) of business because it is likely that exempt information as defined in paragraphs 12 and 13 of Part 4 of Schedule 12A of the Act would be disclosed.

## 8 CODE OF CONDUCT - PART 3 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 2000

To note that since the last meeting there have been no changes to the confidential report on complaints against members lodged with the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales.

## **MEMBERSHIP**

**Independent Members:** 

Rev Wayne Roberts, Mr Ian Trigger (Chair), Ms Margaret Medley and Mrs Paula White

Town/Community Council Member Councillor David E Jones

County Councillors
Councillor Bill Cowie
Councillor Colin Hughes

#### **COPIES TO:**

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils